The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Happy Veganniversary

Posted by tinako on April 24, 2011

My parents came for breakfast this morning, and I made Whole Wheat Pancakes, Strawberry-Rhubarb Syrup, Blueberry Syrup, and Assam tea.

The kids’ Easter baskets had jelly beans, a chocolate egg from Vegan Essentials, a Mahalo bar, and Guylian chocolates.  Vegan Essentials had a lot of Easter treats, but they seem to go fast.  They were sold out of vegan Peeps 😦   Completing the baskets were an umbrella, hair ties, and a comic book.  The kids were very happy.

Torta Pasquelina

Even though Easter moves around on the calendar, it was Easter dinner 2008 that I first decided to try to make a completely vegan meal, and it felt so wonderful, so right, that I stuck with it, and so it seems fitting for me to celebrate that important anniversary on this holiday of rebirth.

I was so proud of myself for pulling it off.  I have my notes from that meal, and I made Torta Pasquelina, Roasted Potatoes, Braided Sweet Potato Bread, and Cream of Leek and Asparagus Soup (both the unlinked recipes are from Vegetarian Celebrations).

For different reasons I didn’t cook a big meal in the next two years, but tonight I decided to celebrate.  Not only is it my third year as a vegan, but my daughter has now been vegan one year, having gone vegan right around last Easter.  I’m so proud of her.

My kids remember loving that Torta, so were very excited that I made it again, and my daughter loved to help.  As you might imagine, it’s a dish that means a lot to me, being my first deliberately vegan meal.

Rosemary Roasted (White and) Sweet Potatoes

Another dish I remember making a lot a decade ago, but haven’t made recently, was Rosemary Roasted Sweet Potatoes.  I had to really search for the recipe.  It’s still great.

Salad

We also had a salad with lettuce, cuke, shredded carrot and beet, roasted red pepper, greek and black olives, dried cranberries, and Balsamic and Herb Vinaigrette and some Swedish Hill Svenska Blush wine.

Crispy Rice Treats

My daughter made Crispy Rice Treats for dessert, and we had it with Starry Night tea.

One Response to “Happy Veganniversary”

  1. Congratulations on 3 years vegan! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

 
