The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Phyllo Pockets

Posted by tinako on May 9, 2011

Phyllo Pockets

I made up some Phyllo Pockets with the rest of the phyllo dough from Torta Pasquelina.  I’m never going to bother with white phyllo dough again – it was so hard to work with, sticking together and tearing – last time I used whole wheat and it was much  easier, but they didn’t have it at the store this time.

I just sprayed two sheets of phyllo with canola oil, put on about 2 T of the same filling I make for Lasagna (including the carrot and greens), and folded them up, occasionally spraying with oil as I folded.

So the little pockets at the front were made from some scrappy pieces basically folded into an envelope, and the triangles at the back were a third of a sheet (cut the long way), folded up like a flag.

Bake at 350 for 12 min.

I served these with leftover takeout rice and a salad, and I saved the leftovers for lunches – I bet they will be good cold.

Another idea for leftover phyllo would be samosa-type filling.

Leave a Reply

 
