The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

The Moral Crusade Against Foodies

Posted by tinako on June 17, 2011

A review of a sickening slew of Foodie books.  I’m so glad I didn’t have to read them.

My favorite passage:

The more lives sacrificed for a dinner, the more impressive the eater. Dana Goodyear: “Thirty duck hearts in curry … The ethos of this kind of cooking is undeniably macho.” Amorality as ethos, callousness as bravery, queenly self-absorption as machismo: no small perversion of language is needed to spin heroism out of an evening spent in a chair.

The Moral Crusade Against Foodies“, by B.R. Myers, The Atlantic

4 Responses to “The Moral Crusade Against Foodies”

  1. There is a point when a hunter changes from no longer hunting for food, to instead hunting for the enjoyment of the kill. That isn’t macho, it’s sadistic. These people aren’t foodies, they’re monsters; they don’t enjoy the flavors as much as they enjoy the abuse. If the victims were humans, dogs, or cats the items described would be criminal acts. What is the moral difference between a dog and a duck? Between a cat and a cow? Or try this on for size: what is the moral difference between a human and a pig?

  2. Lisa said

    I fail to see what is so macho about eating something like that. Gross.

  3. CAJEL said

    Oops just went thru the dessert section (as opposed to the breads) and I see you also use white flour and sugar. Why the disconnect? Aren’t we about HEALTHY eating? For me, Veganism is about more than saving animals or feeding more people.

    • tinako said

      Ah, I wondered if you had seen everything. I don’t see a disconnect. I am not vegan for health reasons. Caring about animals and the environment and caring about my own health are not directly related. Not sure they’re related at all, come to think of it.

      However, I do care about health very much, and you can see that by my numerous writings about nutrition, specifically obesity and disease (see the Categories list to the left or the Contents on the main menu), but I have not seen evidence that it is necessary to completely eliminate white flour and sugar to be healthy. (Feel free to share any research you know of here.) I only have dessert a few times a week, and in modest portions, and I usually avoid the recipes with cups of oil, and always reduce the sugar.

      I guess we all come to veganism from different paths. Thanks again for stopping by. I hope you can find the rest of the site helpful and just put some electrical tape over the Desserts button 😉

Leave a Reply

 
