The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Barbeque

Posted by tinako on August 12, 2011

Salt Potatoes

Grilled Zucchini

Tonight I made Salt Potatoes.  In case you don’t know, I just boil small potatoes in water to cover with quite a bit of salt, maybe 1/4 c or more.  They take about 20 minutes, and then I drain them and put in some margarine and roll the covered pan a bit to coat the spuds.

Grilled Tofu

We also had grilled zucchini with Sweet-Sour-Spicy Marinade, and grilled tofu with Sage Marinade.  I did this on a regular gas grill and had more trouble controlling the heat, as you can imagine.  Hot here, not there, and very drying.  Plus I prefer not to have to run back and forth from the kitchen to the carport – this is a one-woman show here.  I think I prefer my grill pan at home.

Sausage and Peppers

Last, but definitely not least, I made a dish I saw made on Totally Vegetarian with Toni Fiore.  It was more or less how she made it anyway.  I can’t remember what she called it, but probably Sausage and Peppers.  I put some canola oil in a large frypan, got it good and hot and put in two pretty small onions cut in half moons.  I sprinkled on some salt and then put in a red pepper cut in half moons.  She says get it really hot, you want to sear them.  But you need to watch or they will burn.  Then I added two Field Roast Chipotle Sausage (in 1″ slices), which are smokin’ hot hot dogs.  She says make a place for them in the middle of the pan so they get right on the pan instead of on top of the peppers.  She says to cook them on high 10 min but I didn’t have time to babysit them that long.  You put three cloves minced garlic on top, so they don’t burn.  I turned the heat down at this point, and added a handful of chopped cherry tomatoes and some sliced basil and parsley.  The sausages added all the flavor we need.  It was very good.  On her show she served them on buns but we didn’t have any.  It was great, but too spicy for my kids, hence the grilled tofu.

Leave a Reply

 
