The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Thanksgiving

Posted by tinako on November 24, 2011

For Thanksgiving dinner, my mother-in-law suggested dividing up the courses, so I was assigned appetizers and a vegan main dish, and my husband was assigned cocktails.

Hazelnut Cranberry Roast

I had picked up a Field Roast Hazelnut Cranberry Roast at about half off after the holidays last year.  Which holiday, I don’t remember, but I noticed that it had an expiration date that was far, far away,well after these holidays.

It was delicious.  There was no discernible quality deterioration.  It was easy to prepare, the crust was flaky and wonderful, the “meat” part very firm, and the center very tasty.  My only complaint would be that the “meat” part was a bit too much like sausage for my taste, which was somehow not what I wanted.  I would have preferred something milder.  My son, a lifelong vegetarian, said he didn’t like it because it tasted too much like meat.  My daughter loved it.

I was keeping everything simple because we were traveling and cooking in someone else’s tiny kitchen, so for appetizers I just put out a few varieties of Triscuits, mixed nuts, and raw veggies with two dips, one Hummus, the other Chili Dip.

Chili Dip was my inspired, while-we-were-packing invention.  I decided I wanted a second dip but everything was used up for the trip.  So in a few minutes I defrosted leftover Black Bean Tofu Chili and pureed it in my food processor.  Voila!  It was a big hit.  I think because the tofu had been frozen, it didn’t puree all the way and remained as little white dots.  This wasn’t as appetizing as I would like, but I just explained it and no one cared.

My kind mother-in-law made the mashed potatoes, squash, and stuffing vegan for us.  The pies were both vegan, the salad veganizeable, and we had a fine meal.

I knew there would be After-Eights chocolate mints handed around at some point, and my daughter and I sort of miss out, so I looked to bring a vegan variety.

Vegan Essentials was out of the kind I bought earlier; they seemed to be accidentally vegan, were very good, and came in a small dark box just like After Eights.  I threw away the box, and I can’t for the life of me find them anywhere online or in my order history.  A mystery.

So I picked up a box of Endangered Species Chocolate Mint.  They were fine, too, but more expensive than the mystery chocolate, and really hard to open.  We handed them around instead of the After Eights and everyone liked them fine.

My husband brought a variety of cocktail ingredients, including Silk Creamer.  He made a pitcher of Skating Party and a couple of Almond Joys.

Leave a Reply

 
