The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Grilled Tofu with Peanut Sauce

Posted by tinako on December 19, 2011

I got the book Vegan Express, by Nava Atlas, out of the library Friday.  I made one recipe verbatim out of it on Saturday: Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cake.  We didn’t really care for it.  Too rich, my son said, though it used applesauce in place of oil.  I can’t describe what I didn’t like about it, maybe the whole wheat pastry flour or it wasn’t sweet enough.  My husband took one bite and was done.  Oh, well.

Plain Grilled Tofu

Tonight I was inspired by her Golden Tofu Triangles with Rich Peanut Sauce, and that was pretty good.  I followed her directions to cut the extra firm tofu into 6 pieces crosswise, blot them, then cut them in half into squares, then diagonally to make small triangles.  Instead of pan frying them, I grilled them on my cast iron grill pan, but then sprinkled on some salt, and that was good.  My kids ate the tofu just like this.

I made the peanut sauce, but I’m not going to post the recipe because I think this one is a bit better.  However, I hadn’t thought to use it like this.

Salad, Grilled Tofu, Rice, and Grilled Zucchini, with Peanut Sauce

At her suggestion, I put the tofu on brown rice and then topped it with some peanut sauce.  I also put the sauce on a salad and some zucchini I grilled plain.  The picture probably looks a little gross, but it was all very good.

Leave a Reply

 
