The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Posted by tinako on February 21, 2012

My dad picked up some Roasted Brussels Sprouts from Wegmans for his Superbowl Party, having been assured twice that they were vegan, and my daughter and I loved them.  He asked about the recipe on his next trip to Wegmans and was directed to the recipe for Roasted Brussels Sprouts… in the most recent free Wegmans Menu Magazine.  He quickly noticed it was not marked vegan, though due to their reliance on bottled sauces, you couldn’t tell why without finding the ingredients list for their Savory Finishing Sauce.  Turns out it’s butter – what a shame.  According to their web site (first link), the server was wrong and the in-store product is not vegan either.  I think I’ve done about all I can when the person selling it repeatedly assures us they are certain it is vegan.

Anyway, my daughter stayed overnight at my dad’s this week and they decided to try to recreate it with a DIY finishing sauce based on the ingredients list.  Here’s how he made that:

  • 1/4 c vegan butter
  • 3 T balsamic vinegar
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 2 T ketchup (in place of tomato paste)
  • 1/4 t ginger
  • 1/4 t onion powder

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

He gave me some extra raw Brussels sprouts and carrots and the remains of the finishing sauce, and I tried it myself. My dad has the Wegmans basting oil, but I substituted olive oil and dried parsley, garlic powder, and thyme based on its ingredients.

It was good, but not quite the same.  I know the Earth Balance butter he used is awesome, so that shouldn’t have made a difference.  I think it might have been too sweet, which would come from the ketchup and vinegar.  My dad has almost an equal mix of butter and vinegar – I think I’d try cutting the vinegar, soy sauce, and ketchup in half, maybe increase the last two ingredients.

I’ll give Wegmans credit for helping people make tasty veggie dishes (and serving them in their stores), and maybe a lot of people like the convenience of reaching for a special oil or sauce.  Maybe they don’t bother keeping the base ingredients, like olive oil and thyme, and just go for the shortcut.  Great, but it would drive me crazy to cook that way; I’d rather have all the base ingredients and a recipe rather than a clutter of bottles that might have stuff I don’t want in it, and can only taste like a few things.

So that’s one reason I’m not interested in Menu Magazine, the others being it’s very meaty and very little in it is vegan.  Too many upsetting photos, and too many recipes that aren’t for me.  No, thanks.

Wegmans has a different magazine in their Natures Marketplace area, and that’s pretty nice with a lot of great coupons and a fair percentage of vegan recipes, but I personally wish they could keep the meat entirely out of it, since there’s so much in Menu.  There was a dead bird on the cover of the November issue.  Et tu, Nature’s Marketplace?

Leave a Reply

 
