The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Instant Pesto

Posted by tinako on March 30, 2012

My friend recommended Simply Organic Sweet Basil Pesto to me.  Unlike many of Simply Organic’s packet mixes, it’s vegan, and even though it calls for adding Parmesan cheese, she said it didn’t need it.

I liked it as well.  I made it in the microwave instead of the stovetop, stirring occasionally and watching the glass bowl closely so it would not boil over.  It probably doesn’t have the depth of flavor of freshly made pesto, but I thought it was pretty good, and certainly easy. The ingredients are reasonable: basil, potato starch, maltodextrin, sea salt, garlic, citrci acid, black pepper, silicon dioxide (everything organic).

I used some as Pizza sauce and froze the rest.

One Response to “Instant Pesto”

  1. […] and is about half a piece.   I cooked some whole wheat linguine and tossed it in the rest of that instant pesto I made and froze a while back.  I also heated up some of my regular pasta sauce for the picky who […]

Leave a Reply

 
