The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chickpea Cutlets

Posted by tinako on April 12, 2012

Mashed Potatoes, Squash, and Chickpea Cutlets

This isn’t the greatest photo, but it sure was pretty, that purple and orange, and really tasty, too.  My parents came for dinner and we had Chickpea Cutlets, Mashed Potatoes with purple potatoes (I boiled them whole so they would keep more color and antioxidants – seemed to work as the cooking water ended up almost clear), Hain’s instant brown gravy for those, butternut squash (didn’t bother with a mixer, just left it lumpy and didn’t add anything = fine), and Cajun Cauliflower.

Cajun Cauliflower

I make squash and cauliflower often when my parents come because, due to a medicine, my dad’s not supposed to have much vitamin K, which I guess most green veggies have.

We always have beer when my folks come.  Well, actually, I have one beer per day.  Since fall, I think, I’ve been drinking High Falls winter variety craft pack.  It’s local and terrific.  I just snagged the last box of the season from my local grocery, and their summer varieties don’t interest me, so it’s on to something new. You can find out which beers are vegan at Barnivore.

Dessert was Apple Cake with Boston Blend tea.

Leave a Reply

 
