The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Barley and Wild Rice Soup

Posted by tinako on April 11, 2013

Edamame, Swiss Chard, Corn Stick, Barley and Wild Rice Soup

Edamame, Swiss Chard, Corn Stick, Barley and Wild Rice Soup

For dinner we had Barley and Wild Rice Soup, Edamame, Swiss chard with balsamic vinegar, and Corn Sticks.

Maybe you’re wondering how I decide to put together a balanced meal like this.  Think of My Plate, with half fruits/veggies and the other half grains and legumes, heavier on the grains.

I started with choosing the soup, saw that it was composed of grains and veggies, and so knew I needed a legume.  I didn’t want to spend time making a bean dish, and in that case I have a few instant or nearly instant go-to items on hand – edamame is easy, and so is throwing tofu, either microwaved or as Faux Feta, on a salad.  But since I wasn’t making a salad I went with edamame.  Then I knew I wanted a green veggie, and Swiss chard was at hand.  It’s nice to have bread with soup, but I had no yeast rolls in the freezer, so I knew I could make Corn Sticks in 30 min.

4 Responses to “Barley and Wild Rice Soup”

  1. Cool! Have you tried making beans in a pressure cooker? I use a pressure cooker almost exclusively now. It cuts the cooking time down from overnight soak plus 4-6 hours in the slow cooker to just 45 minutes total!

    • tinako said

      My pressure cooker/canner was just making me mad. It leaked steam and took forever to get up to pressure. Then it failed in a new and exciting way – I threw it away after I had to repaint my ceiling to cover up the beet juice; I put the ladder and paint brushes away just as my guests arrived. The pressure cooker was surely defective, since I used to use a smaller one without incident, but somehow I have not felt like buying another. What brand do you have?

      • Yikes! At least beet makes a nice color 🙂 Sounds like the rubber seal was worn out. They’re like car wiper blades – they get old and dried out, so don’t seal as well. Ours is an old Tefal. I’ve been rocking it for nearly twenty years!

      • tinako said

        It was brand new, never worked right. And the kitchen looked like a crime scene. It washed off the walls and counters OK, but the ceiling stained and needed a very quick paint job.

        Tefal, OK.

Leave a Reply

 
