The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Calzones

Posted by tinako on May 12, 2013

002We had Calzones for dinner.  They were filled with Cashew Ricotta, defrosted frozen spinach (water squeezed out), and shredded carrot.  There was quite a bit of carrot per calzone (~3/4 c?) and I worried it might taste “healthy” but I didn’t even notice it.

The sauce is from my garden last fall.  When the Roma tomatoes storing in the basement are ripe, I just get out my biggest iron pot and saute some garlic (so easy to grow, maybe 8 cloves for a gallon of tomatoes) in olive oil on low for a minute.  Then I start dumping in halved tomatoes.  I’m too lazy to peel or seed them, but if they’re not Roma, I do squeeze out excess water.  I add 1/2 c red wine for every 2 quarts of fresh tomatoes.  I bring them to a boil and cook them down for a long time, adding plenty of fresh or dried herbs such as oregano, basil, maybe Rosemary, it depends on what I have on hand from the garden.  I’ll often add a fresh, sliced jalapeno, since I grow those, too.  Salt and pepper.  I do a lot of adjusting to taste, and it never tastes exactly the same.  Tip: if the sauce is too sweet, add oregano.  I seldom add sugar, but once in a while it helps.  When it’s cooked down pretty well, I puree it in batches, returning to the pot if it needs to thicken some more, and adjusting the seasonings.  Then I freeze it. This “recipe” is the same as my standard Marinara, adapted for fresh tomatoes.

I have about a quart and a half of sauce left, and then I’ll start making sauce with canned tomatoes.

One Response to “Calzones”

  1. Excellent! Homegrown sauce is the best!

Leave a Reply

 
