The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Don’t Take Your Vitamins

Posted by tinako on June 24, 2013

I like this opinion piece in the N.Y. Times, “Don’t Take Your Vitamins,” which has a nice summary of the substantial research showing increases in death from taking vitamin pills, and why the FDA is powerless to inform you of this.  I know you’ll be surprised that the answer is corporate money.

3 Responses to “Don’t Take Your Vitamins”

  1. Thank you for sharing this! When I went plant-based, one of the things I was taught was to eat only whole foods the way they are found in nature. Thus I learned that vitamins are not a whole food and thus should not be taken (with the exception of B12, which you cannot get from a vegan diet). I was taught that our bodies know how to use vitamins when they are packaged in the form of whole foods, but that our bodies don’t know how to use concentrated vitamin pills that are not natural. It’s sad for people to try to improve their health with vitamin pills only to actually harm themselves. My motto is let food be thy medicine!! Celeste 🙂

  2. tinako said

    Thanks for your comment. Food is great medicine. And good point about B12. It’s important for vegans to look into B12, but I decided to ask my doctor to add a test for it onto a blood test I have to have annually anyway. This way I can avoid taking pills and be confident I’m OK. It is always fine. I do use soy milk, which I think is fortified, but I also add nutritional yeast flakes to any flour I use (1 tsp per cup).

    I avoid telling people you *can’t* get B12 from a vegan diet because it makes our diet sound deficient, like a cobbled-together pharmaceutical-supported second-best. I discuss B12 in another posting (https://expandingcircle.wordpress.com/2009/05/11/b-12/). B12 just doesn’t come automatically with the usual advice of “eating a varied whole-foods diet” – we have to think about it. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. tinako said

    Here’s the nutritional profile for that yeast: http://lesaffre-yeast.com/red-star/vsf.html

Leave a Reply

 
