The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Isa Does It

Posted by tinako on December 16, 2013

I was tabling for the Rochester Area Vegetarian Society over the weekend.  These were shopping venues, so instead of outreach we were selling vegan cookbooks, baked goods, and my art prints.  One cookbook kept catching my attention, Moskowitz’ Isa Does It, by the author of  one of my favorite cookbooks, Veganomicon, not to mention Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar.  Her new cookbook has so many lovely photos, and everything looked delicious, and it was nearly dinnertime.  One copy sold, but the other was left and I decided to spend my birthday money on it.

Tonight I made recipe #1 from it, “Alphabet Soup.”  It’s a simple recipe but it was very good.  This is a heavy tome, and she devotes two whole page to most recipes – a photo and copious notes.  Her directions were very good.  The only thing I object to is the smell of the book – it might be all that colored ink.

She has a wonderful sense of humor, and the book includes info for beginners, not so much beginners to veganism but to cooking in general.  With no chapter on “Why vegan?” I love that the book takes for granted, Why wouldn’t you want to cook these delicious meals?  This is not the “make do” book for people stuck with tofu, it’s a fabulous celebration of flavor.

She doesn’t seem to have a lot of breads in the book, but that’s OK with me.  With this soup we had Corn Sticks.

Leave a Reply

 
