The Expanding Circle

…health, the environment, and social justice…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Leafletting

Posted by tinako on June 23, 2014

I went out leafletting today.  In case you don’t know, to leaflet you get hold of some educational handouts and then find a place to hand them out to people.  I table a lot (which is setting up a table of materials at an event and letting people come to you) but I’m new to leafletting.

compassionate_choices_leafletIn my case, I’m doing this because a book I read, Matt Ball and Bruce Friedrich’s Animal Activist’s Handbook, suggested leafletting about farm animal suffering as one of the more effective ways to reduce suffering in the world.  They’re associated with Vegan Outreach, so I chose one of the leaflets VO offers (“Compassionate Choices,” the one with the more pleasant cover).

When I table, I am usually tabling for the health or environmental reasons to eat less meat.  This is because most mainstream venues such as towns and colleges won’t invite someone to discuss slaughter or animal cruelty.  But I feel as though I would like to offer this information to people.  I am so grateful for the person who handed me a Farm Sanctuary brochure about veal 26 years ago – thank you, wherever you are.  I am glad to know the truth.  So I hit the street.

I was going to leaflet at Rochester’s International Jazz Festival, and grabbed a pack of 50 brochures and hopped on my bike to go to an afternoon venue, but I was late and everyone was already inside.  Undaunted, and determined not to go home with the brochures, I looked around and saw a lot of people on Main Street, about a block away.  So I rode up there and parked.  It was noontime on a lovely day in the business district right where all the bus lines meet, and walking along I was able to hand out all 50 brochures in 36 minutes within four blocks.

More than half the people accepted them (though I didn’t ask every person).  Some people were really happy, pleasantly surprised, a few wanted to talk, one informed me she didn’t need it since she wasn’t cruel to animals, one took a flyer and then offered to sell me some drugs, a few were mentally ill, but no one was mean.  A lovely man who seemed homeless was so grateful to get one.  I wish now I’d sat down and talked with him.

Leave a Reply

 
